The 4 types of Spiritual Fasting

Today I received the following diagram, because the Christian believers entered the lent period, a period of spiritual fasting.

[skip to the meat (pun intended)]

About the Lent period, I quote from

The season of Lent is regarded as a time for when Christians should clean up their spiritual house, coming to terms with their lives and rededicating themselves to a more holy and righteous way of living.

and about “Clean Monday”

This first day of Great Lent is called “Clean Monday” because Christians should begin the holy season with “clean hearts and good intentions.

Now let’s cut to the action!.

Spiritual fasting is when people abstain not only from bodily impurities, but also mental and spiritual ones. They aspire for a more positive and forgiving character during that period.

What you see below is an explanation of what “Spiritual Fasting” is, using the Arabic language. I annotated the circles with numbers from 1 to 4. I will then proceed with the translation:


  1. The fasting of the mouth: Fasting from eating and drinking for a period during the day. At the end of the day, eat fat free food.
  2. The fasting of the senses: control the tongue, the eyes and the ears and guard them from sin.
  3. The fasting of the mind: purify the mind and honor emotions and thoughts
  4. The fasting of the heart: absolving the heart of all evil and loving God from all one’s heart

You got inspired? Please share your thoughts in the comment area.

Related articles:  [Fasting Prayer] [Introduction to Fasting] [Juice Fasting Friday]

Leave a Reply